Mini Chassis Designations

Mini Chassis R & F Designations

We’ve had quite a few questions lately from customers wanting a full explanation of MINI’s internal numbering system. R55, R56, R53, it can get a bit confusing if you’re relatively new to the MINI world so we figured a quick explanation might be in order.

But before we get to the numbers, let’s take a second to explain the system. Like BMW, MINI names each of their cars with internal code names that are great for quickly referencing specific models. Typically the lower numbers are related to when the car was conceived as a potential product. The by-product can be a sneak peak into MINI’s early product planning.

Now, on to the list:

1st Generation New MINI (First Released 7/2001):
2001-2006 R50: MINI One & Cooper Coupe
2004-2008 R52: MINI One, Cooper and Cooper S Convertible
2001-2006 R53: Cooper S Coupe (conceived after the One and Cooper)

2nd Generation New MINI (First Released 11/2006):
2007-2014 R55: MINI Clubman
2006-2013 R56: MINI One, Cooper, Cooper S Coupe
2009-2015 R57: MINI One, Cooper, Cooper S Convertible
2012-2015 R58
2012-2015 R59
2010-2016 R60: MINI Countryman
2012-2016 R61: MINI Paceman

3rd Generation New MINI
2016-Present F54: Mini Clubman
2015-Present F55
2014-Present F56
2016-Present F57
2017-Present F60



Voted Atlanta’s #1 BMW & Mini Service Shop

Satisfaction Guaranteed

Call us today


or message us online:

7 + 4 =